GlobalTemp

I am quite happy to announce the (slightly belated) launch of my online archive, GlobalTemp. GlobalTemp will serve as the online supplement to my dissertation on temporariness in global cities–namely Dubai, Los Angeles, and Ho Chi Minh City. I’ve been collecting material for my dissertation project for a few years now, and keep coming across even more material (news articles, images, artwork, videos, etc.) regularly. Sadly, there’s no way I can include all of it in my dissertation, so this temporary web archive of temporariness (!) will serve as a space to share and collocate these texts as I come across them on the web and elsewhere. At the moment, I’m unsure about how to archive these things, and how much critical commentary I want to append to each text, but it was my primary goal just to get it up and out there. Tumblr seemed the easiest, most accessible format and I like the interface of their archive. The platform will mostly likely change in future, and (hopefully) some day I’ll be able to find a more temporary home for this collection. I also hope more people will contribute! Some of my original work is also shared there, and I really want to make more when time permits.

Please see the above link for the latest entries and click on the picture below to access the archive. It’s still in its infancy, so bear with me!

And if you can’t see the icon in the window tab, it’s a photo of a building in Cairo, Egypt, from my trip there in 2008. This image rather beautifully represents the larger structures producing and perpetuating temporariness that become manifest in small-scale instances like this singular building. This edifice, like many in Cairo, is unfinished, it is inhabited. Apparently, property laws in Cairo dictate that if a building is not completed (i.e. the roof is not completed) taxes and fees are dramatically lower. As a result, we see similar building all over the city. Rebar and frames are still exposed, as are the underlying wall structures, so you can observe the inconsistency and precarity in construction. I’ve had difficulty finding additional research on this particular phenomenon (granted, my efforts are generally channeled elsewhere), but if anyone knows any additional information, I’d love to know more. This post at Aqoul, also approaches this topic: “Cairo’s Collapsing Buildings.”

Leave a Reply

